top of page

chatting with an Anna's hummingbird


I was sitting on the patio, taking a break from working in the garden, when I observed this Anna's hummingbird. It was happily feeding on nectar in lemon blossoms when along flew an Umber Skipper, which then chased the hummer away.

I couldn't believe my eyes! A little Umber Skipper butterfly chasing a hummingbird?

After a few minutes the hummingbird returned to the lemon tree and sat on a branch facing me.

I said "I can't believe the Umber Skipper chased you away !?!"

As if it understood, the hummer then cocked its head to one side.

Then turned its head even more.

I almost expected it to chirp or say something.

This was definitely a bonding experience.

Oh, if only more people just stopped for a few minutes to observe what's going on around them in nature.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page