top of page

Borage sprouting in the garden


I don't remember seeing borage sprouting in patches like this before!

I think this proves that even in prolonged drought conditions some seeds will lie dormant in soil, and sprout as soon as they have enough water to germinate. After the rain a week ago (about 1/2 inch of rain overnight) this is what happened.

The patch of borage sprouts in the image above is sprouting amid the dried remains of a patch of lambs ears. At first I though they are new lambs ears sprouts, but then I compared them to other lambs ears sprouting and they definitely are not the same.

Nearby are some borage plants sprouting, and they look the same (see image below).

So these must be borage, and I'm very excited about that, thinking how much food we'll have for the bees in the springtime!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page