top of page

more food for bees! Sapphire Salvia!

just purchased Sapphire Salvia/Sage plants in containers in our back yard

This is considered the best time to plant for the upcoming year because winter rains help keep the soil moist for young plants to develop a strong root system. So I'm being optimistic about the winter rains and bought some more plants to feed the bees.

I bought two Sapphire Salvia/Sage plants (1 is pictured above) when we went to the East Bay Nursery last weekend. We originally drove to a site where we have been getting free wood chips for the past years. Every year in October, when the garden is starting to dry out, it's good to have a nice ground cover around the plants, at least one inch of wood chips.

But this time the site was bare, no wood chips at all!

That's how we ended up at the nursery, to buy forest bark nuggets. And of course, I'm not going to pass up wandering around and checking out the plants. I remembered that I wanted to buy blue salvia/sage plants, and as I headed for the native plant section, I passed a big patch of plants with brilliant blue flowers, all of the plants about 9 inches tall. When I saw all the honeybees buzzing around these plants, I figured this is a no-brainer! Obviously these are the plants to get! Sapphire Salvia/Sage.

So along with 4 huge bags of forest bark (and that's still not enough for our garden!) the two Sapphire Salvia plants found a new home. For now they are in containers in our back yard. But maybe I'll transplant them into the ground in the front garden, if I find a nice sunny available spot for them there.

Honeybees in the Sapphire Salvia/Sage at the East Bay Nursery

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page