top of page

Meanwhile, a towhee gathers twigs for its nest in the backyard

Towhee scoping out the surroundings for nest materials

This week we noticed a pair of California towhees hunting for twigs in our backyard. And realized that they are building a nest in our neighbor's shrub right on the other side of our back fence. How exciting! I took these photos yesterday late morning, which seems to be the prime time for these towhees to gather nesting material.

Towhee scored a beakful of twigs!

This is why I don't trim and clean up twigs and dried up stems over the winter. They make great nest material.

Taking the twigs to the nest

Somewhere in there is a towhee nest in the making!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page