top of page

California towhee fledgling


I was out in the backyard and noticed this California towhee on the fence. I walked very slowly and quietly to get close enough to get a decent photo of the bird. It was strange that although the towhee saw me it didn't run or fly away, as they normally would. It seemed unconcerned that a human was very close by.

Then I realized that it was a fledgling.

The towhee walked over to the fence post and calmly sat there until another towhee suddenly chirped in a nearby tree and flew to the fledgling. It must have been one of the towhee parents coming to the rescue. The parent then led the way running down the other direction on the fence, and disappeared into the shrubbery behind the fence, followed by the fledgling.

How nice to see that the towhees who built the nest in the shrubbery a month or two ago, were successful in hatching at least one egg!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page