top of page

Hummingbird nesting in the fig tree


This afternoon while in the house I heard an interesting bird song, and got my camera to try to get an image of the bird. I saw a bird fly from the lemon tree to the fig tree.

The bird kept singing, high up in the top branches.

Quietly walking around the fig tree, and looking up, I finally saw the bird, a Bewick's wren.

The wren was constantly hopping around in the branches, and then flew away.

I continued to slowly walk around the tree, and suddenly spotted an Anna's hummingbird sitting on a nest on the narrower part of a branch.

At first I didn't know what I was looking at because the hummingbird was sitting very still.

A hummingbird nesting in the fig tree.

What a magical moment!

The nest is the size of a golf ball.

I didn't want to get close to the bird on its nest so that it wouldn't get upset or agitated.

But as you can see from the blown up image (above), the bird used a lot of spider webs to wrap around the nest, with little bits of leaves in the webbing.

I had read that hummingbirds use spiderwebs, twigs, and lichen for their nest material, and soft plant fibers to line the nest. It would be interesting to know if the bird used to line their nest some of our cat's fur that I have in a suet holder hanging from a branch of the same fig tree.

The gestation time for hummingbirds is 2 to 3 weeks.

I have no idea how long the nest has been there.

Every weekend I'm working in the garden, and had no idea what was going on 4 feet above my head! Let's hope all goes well for our little feathered friends!

This is my first view of the Anna's hummingbird on its nest in the fig tree.

It first was facing toward the left, then turned around to face right.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page