top of page

The leaf cutter bees


As I wrote in a post earlier this week, prior to this week, I have never seen so many leaf cutter bees feeding on nectar and collecting pollen.

It looks like the cosmos flowers are very much to their taste.

Above is a leaf cutter bee on a Klondike cosmos flower.

These bees cut out a lot of round pieces from the edges of leaves on the rosebushes to line their nests.

It doesn't bother me at all. There will always be more leaves, anyway.

I think it's just interesting to actually see them around the backyard a lot these days.

Whee.....

Look to the right of the Prom dress cosmos flowers and you'll see a leaf cutter bee in flight.

A leaf cutter bee on a Prom dress cosmos flower

And the same leaf cutter bee from the side

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page