top of page

California towhee fledgling


I observed this California towhee fledgling sunning itself on the backyard fence today.

You can tell with its still fluffy feathers that it is a fledgling.

I was just surprised that there were no parents around.

First it sat for a long time in this position, with its back to me, feathers fluffed out.

Then it turned to sit and watch me, as in the image at the top.

I've noticed that all of our Sunshine blueberries are gone, so I assume the fledgling and its parents ate them.

Later I saw the same fledgling poking around the base of the fence, looking for seeds and bugs.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page