top of page

Black-tailed Bumble Bee sleeping


Look who was sleeping on a California Delta sunflower.

Yet another bee that I had never seen before.

This is a Black-tailed Bumble Bee, Bombus melanopygus .

It is one of the few bumble bees still often seen in San Francisco.

But this is the first time I've seen one in our garden here in the hills of the East Bay.

As you may have noticed from my posts, I commented a lot about the Yellow-Faced Bumble Bees bombus vosnesenskii in the early summer because they were the first bumble bees to visit our native garden and patio plants this year, in the late spring and early summer.

The Black-tailed Bumble Bee is native to Western North America, from California up to British Columbia.

Here is a side view of the sleeping bee.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page