top of page

Sweat bees are here


Sweat bees are amazing.

You do need a trained eye to recognize them.

I'm still learning and usually don't realize what they are until I zoom into photos.

This little bee for example, in the California alba poppy above, looks almost like a honey bee.

But it is much smaller.

I had to do some research to figure out what this miniature "honey bee" really is.

It definitely is a sweat bee.

Up until now I only recognized Ultra Green Sweat Bees in the garden every summer.

They have a very distinctive metallic green color.

And they are always attracted to Klondike or Sulphur Orange cosmos flowers, and poppies.

At first glance I thought this was a tiny carpenter bee.

It actually is a sweat bee, and appears to be a Tiny Metallic Sweat Bee male Lasioglossum (Dialictus).

Sweat bees earned their common name because of their tendency to land on skin to drink perspiration for the salt and moisture content. They only sting if they are disturbed.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page