top of page

Birds out in the rain


The Bay Area got soaked yesterday, which is just what we should have every winter.

During periods of lighter rain I looked outside for signs of birds.

Here is a Golden-crowned sparrow in one of the garden beds by the patio.

The photo was taken through a glass sliding door.

A California towhee sat high on a crabapple branch, chirping in the rain.

The little white vertical lines on the photo are rain drops.

Earlier in the day, when we were having light rainfall, I walked around the yard to check on the water collecting in watering cans and the rain barrel.

As I approached a Japanese eggplant growing in a large flower pot, I noticed a little, round bird hopping in the eggplant, apparently eating bugs under the leaves.

I had never before seen a bird like it.

It wasn't afraid of me, as I stood frozen in my tracks.

I looked up on the Cornell Lab of Ornithology website what kind of bird it is, and it turns out to be a Ruby-crowned Kinglet.

It looked exactly like this. Photo is from the website, taken by Greatblue1.

How exciting to have observed this sweet little bird for the first time!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page