top of page

Cedar waxwings greeting the early morning sun


What a treat to see in the morning!

Early in the morning I heard the cedar waxwings singing high up in the redwood tree.

Usually I just hear them but can't see them when they are on top of the tree.

But now a large group of them, at least twenty birds, were perched a little lower, facing southeast.

They seemed to be enjoying the first rays of the sun.

Some of the birds were preening their feathers, as if preparing for the day.

I think they are such beautiful birds, with their black masks, prominent crests, peach colored chests and pale yellow bellies.

And look at the bright yellow tail feathers.

I know they are monitoring the ivy berries down below.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page