top of page

Silver Bush Lupine in the rain


Last autumn we planted three Silver Bush Lupines Lupinus albifrons in larger pots on the patio.

These perennials grow naturally along the coast of California and Oregon.

They grow up to three feet tall, sometimes five feet, and produce spikes of pea-like, purple blossoms.

They are a host plant for the endangered Mission Blue butterfly and should attract other butterflies, as well.

With all of the rain that we have been getting, two of the plants are producing many of these spiky heads, which I assume will eventually push up and develop buds.

The creepy light green aphids have already discovered these spiky heads on one of the plants, so I pick off the aphids every morning. Hopefully the plants will continue to thrive and bloom.

And I would be thrilled if we find Mission Blue butterflies visiting these lupines in the spring and summertime.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page