top of page

Oak Titmouse singing in the rain


There is at least one oak titmouse that I often notice in shrubs and trees around the garden.

I first noticed them because of their songs.

They are quite robust songs which surprised me the first time I noticed they were coming from such a small bird.

The males sing more and more as spring approaches.

These birds eat seeds, berries, other plant material, as well as invertebrates such as aphids, spiders, wasps and flies.

I took the photo above during a period between heavier rain showers.

The birds seem to enjoy light rain, fluffing their feathers and flapping their wings to clean themselves.

You can really see the crest on the titmouse's head as it turns away from the camera.

It is one of the most common birds in California, but the population is slowly declining due to clearance of its usual habitat, oak woodland, for urban and suburban development.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page