top of page

California Towhee and the India Walking Stick


The other evening I happened to glance out the kitchen window, noticing some movement on our walkway. A California Towhee was hard at work pecking hard at what I first thought was a thick blade of grass. But that blade of grass had thin long legs, and soon hung limp in the towhee's beak.

Alas, it was the demise of an India Walking Stick Carausius morosus.

These walking stick insects were originally imported to the United States as ideal pets for children to care for.

They are now considered invasive, at least here in California.

The towhee looked very pleased with its treat.

A few minutes after I took this photo the towhee flew away to eat the walking stick in peace, maybe bringing it to a nest to feed its young.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page