top of page

Still visiting



Much to everyone's delight, there seems to be a population explosion of monarch butterflies in our neighborhood this autumn.


Through nextdoor.com I've discovered that there are many others in the vicinity who are trying to help the Western monarch population by growing milkweed and planting more nectar plants.


There are several monarchs that waft in the breeze, circling our house all day, every day. I recognize one by a hind wing that has a piece missing from its edge. Enjoying their lovely daily presence, I am really going to miss them when they overwinter.


The monarch above is resting on a branch of a dried California figwort Scrophularia californica.


I hope the current abundance of monarchs means that there is an upward trend in their numbers.





Comments


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page