top of page

The California natives are flourishing



It's that time of the year when all of the natives awaken from their dormant slumber.

Surprises happen too.

For example, when I planted this native garden,1 1/2 years ago, two of the plants were Soap plants Chlorogalum pomeridianum. Of the many seedlings I planted (around 40 of them), a couple of them were seemingly casualties, including the two Soap plants. The leaves shriveled up, and I figured the plants just didn't like our horrible clay soil.


Just a month ago, both plants shot up 6 foot tall stems.

And then the magic started. At dusk every day, their lovely blossoms open up, attracting the last bees circling the garden, getting their final nectar sips. The blossoms are pollinated by evening and night flying insects.









Last year, early spring, I strew native wildflower seeds.

Among the plants that sprouted and grew were a few Godetias aka Farewell to Spring aka Clarkia.

After the blossoms dried up in the autumn, I just left the dried stalks.

And now look at this big patch of them. Such lovely and striking shades of pink.









Here is a view of the reseeded California Poppy Madness!

They fill up most of the woodchip pathway we had created.

To the right is the Pozo blue salvia I transplanted when it was very small, around 8" high.

It is now huge, 5' wide by 5' tall, and still growing.


The white flowers seen in the background are cilantro flowers.

Once the cilantro plants bolted in our raised vegetable beds, I let them bloom.

The flowers are so lovely and are visited throughout the day by bees and other beneficial insects.

Comments


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page