top of page

Yay! Wool Carder Bees are here



If you ever want to see Wool Carder bees Anthidium in action, plant Lambs Ears Stachys.


I used to enjoy observing these industrious bees in patches of Lambs Ears in the garden of our former home.

Last year I saw none because the Lambs Ears that I transplanted from our former garden, were still small.

Now, a year later, the Lambs Ears have spread and are larger.


I observed this one gathering fiber from one of the leaves.

These bees scrape the soft hairs off leaf and stem surfaces to stuff into their nests to form a pad to lay an egg on.

It's a laborious task, which takes about a minute.

The bee has to form fiber balls, one at a time, then fly with the ball to their nest.








Here the bee has made a lot of progress, forming a ball from the fiber.








Now the bee is packing the fiber into a tight ball to transport to its nest.


It will soon fly back to repeat the task.

Astonishing to observe!

Comments


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page