top of page

Ivory Banded Digger Bees



This afternoon an Ivory Banded Digger Bee male Anthophora californica spent a lot of time around the Pozo Blue salvia plant.


As you can see, I didn't cut back any of the dried flowerheads or stems remaining from last year. One never knows if birds need to eat the seeds, or if any insects needed stems for overwintering quarters.


I only realized when I blew up this shot that there were two males interested in the plant, the one flying in the center, and the other, facing the camera to the lower diagonal right of the center bee.















Here is one of the digger bees in flight, on the lower right.

Comments


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bees in the bay breeze
 

For years I have been sharing ideas, gardening tips and recipes  with family, friends and colleagues.

And now I'd like to share them with you!

Read More About me
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
bottom of page